Foundation Stage

In the Foundation Stage Unit children have the opportunity to learn through play and practical activities, with free-flow access to four distinct areas.  These areas include two working classrooms, an outdoor area and a creative area. 

We follow the Early Years Statutory Framework, published in March 2014 by the DfES. This Framework specifies the requirement for learning and development in the Early Years and provides specific areas of learning we must cover in our curriculum. These areas are:

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

2. Physical Development

3. Communication and Language development

4. Literacy

5. Mathematics

6. Understanding the World

7. Expressive Arts and Design

It is a play-based curriculum, following a child initiated structure, where the children learn through direct experience, investigation, exploration and play.  As part of the journey through Foundation children will be learning through topics including: Ourselves, Autumn, Festivals and Celebrations and Food and Growing. 

Key Stage 1 and Lower Key Stage 2

Parent Guide: This guide is intended to support parents of primary school children. Obviously it would be impossible to set out in detail everything your child would learn during their six years of statutory primary education, but by providing an outline of typical content and some background information about how the curriculum and assessment works, hopefully it will help parents support their children in making the most of their education.

Page Downloads